loader image

Spotlight: California Seat Belt Laws

 

 

This article will spotlight the California laws regarding use of a driver’s seat belt while operating a vehicle. In 2005, the California “Click it, or Ticket” campaign was launched and law enforcement has since seen a rise in the use of seat belts. An estimated 15,000 lives were saved due to the use of seat belts as reported by the National Highway Council in 2017. So its been proven that the use of seat belts and child safety seats are the top things to do for the survival of yourself and your passengers in the event of a collision.

You can look to the California Vehicle Code, Division 12, Chapter 5: Other Equipment, Article 3: Safety Belts and Inflatable Restraining Systems, Section 27315 for explanation of the laws governing the use of car seat belts for adults.

 

But here’s all you really need to know:

In the state of California the driver and all passengers in private vehicles must be fastened with seat belts at all times.

 

Exceptions:

The exceptions are passengers in taxi vehicles while the taxi drivers are required to wear their seat belts. Though the taxi must be equipped with rear seat belts for it’s passengers. Exceptions extend to newspaper delivery persons, garbage truck drivers, and those persons whose work would have them frequently enter and leave the vehicle. In addition, those with certain medical conditions may be considered exempt from use of seat belts as well.

 

Here’s the facts:

While criminal charges may not be filed against a person for not wearing their seat belt, a person that ignores this citation may acquire another violation, as it is a penalty for violating VC 40508, for the failure to appear in court on a traffic citation.

 

Fines

In California, the cost of an adult seat belt violation is $162 while a child under 16 years of age that is not properly restrained is a $490 fine, and if the parent is not in the car then the driver will receive the citation.

Related Posts

Spotlight: Types of Traffic Tickets

    While the California vehicle code has over 1,000 pages, there are certainly many reasons you could find yourself pulled over by a police officer when traveling our roadways. From moving violations such as speeding tickets to a busted taillight when...

read more

Spotlight: California Vehicle TV Laws

    This article shines a spotlight on the California laws regarding use of TV monitors in your vehicle. Its amazing to think how far technology has come, and while its not illegal to operate a TV monitor in your vehicle, it does need to be properly...

read more

Spotlight: Traffic School

    There are generally three different traffic tickets for which you may be cited: Parking Ticket Infraction Traffic Ticket Misdemeanor Traffic Ticket   But only one of these will allow you the opportunity to attend traffic school in order to prevent...

read more

Free Case Analysis

The best way to get guidance on your specific legal issue is to contact Ticket Dismissers. For a free accurate case analysis, please call 818-213-5130 or complete our contact form.

2 + 14 =